The hills are alive.

July 11, 2011 at 6:20 pm | Posted in running, weekend | Leave a comment

Coach Brian is a funny guy. He told us that Team R2R’s long run this Sunday would be a “very light jog” around Central Park.

Very light jog indeed! I think we went up and down every hill I never knew existed in CP.

It was actually an incredibly beautiful run. We were really off the beaten path and for the most part, I had no clue where we were – which was awesome.

To be completely honest, though, I had a little bit of trouble keeping up. I guess that’s what I get for not running at all for 10 (!) days, and really only running a handful of times in the whole month before that. Marathon training is in full swing now, and though I’m not likely to run myself, I need to be able to keep up with the team on our runs.

(That said, the hills were so killer that Coach Ali cancelled our planned post-run cross training, so I know I’m not the only one who was exhausted :))

P.S. Found an awesome new post-run rehydration drink: chocolate coconut water. So delicious.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

