Information overload.

July 26, 2011 at 6:20 pm | Posted in not-running, weekend | Leave a comment

I spent this whole weekend cooped up in a basement conference room at Morristown Medical Center in New Jersey.

I was taking a course to be certified as a running coach!

I learned SO MUCH. We covered everything from how the body creates energy to nutrition to injury prevention and treatment to building training plans. It was incredibly overwhelming to have so much information condensed into such a short period. But it was also extremely useful. Starting next week, I’ll share a series of posts on the various things I learned here on the blog. In the meantime, I’ll tell you the major thing that I took away from the program (which may be obvious, but kind of hit me like a ton of bricks):

The most important thing is miles.

The more miles you run, the better runner you will be. Yes, there are many other factors, but the bottom line is that you can add up all of those other factors and they won’t mean much if you’re not getting in the miles. So, I’d suggest that you lace up your sneakers and get out there!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

