I quit toast.

August 11, 2011 at 3:44 pm | Posted in food, Thursday group | 3 Comments

In the interest of full disclosure, I feel the need to tell you that I have eliminated toast from my breakfast routine.

I don’t like giving things up, but I realized I was consuming more calories than I really should each day and I looked around a bit for places to snip. The toast was the obvious choice – 100 calories for the bread plus 100 calories (or more?!) of almond butter. (Don’t worry, I’m still getting my AB/protein fix by slathering it on my banana [wow, that sounds really dirty, but there is just no other way to say it].)

It seems like such a small change but I’m already feeling the difference. I’m just as full without toast but I don’t feel as weighed down. And now I can splurge more on the weekend, where splurging belongs (also somehow dirty?). The lesson here is that carefully picking and choosing where I get my calories can help me to eat what I want without worrying about growing out of my clothes.

For example, I love cheese. LOVE. But when I think about it, what I really REALLY love is having a fancy bit of cheese with a slice of baguette and maybe (ha) a glass of wine. So, I’m trying to save my cheese intake for moments like those, and not just automatically add cheese to every sandwich and veggie burger I eat. And it’s working for me, so far.

On another note, today is a PERFECT day for a run! Come on out and join us. We’re going to do the hill workout that we had scheduled for Tuesday when we were rained out. If you’ve never done hills, today is your lucky day! (Don’t be afraid.) 6:30 at the Columbus Circle entrance to Central Park.

Source.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re so right though–bread adds so many calories to your diet. It’s a simple fix, just like switching to 1% milk and cutting down on butter.
    Best of luck to you!

    • good analogy! thanks!

  2. […] after my toast post my BFF told me that she does not approve of my breakfast edit! She said it’s not smart to […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

